Congratulations to our worthy winners, Dermot Carnegie and Paul Bosdet, who led almost all the way, chased valiantly but in vain by Graham Walker and Sean Toohey (Lotus Elan Sprint). Just 18 seconds separated these crews in the final results, after three days and 500 miles of rallying.

Sean Toohey won the inaugural Nigel Raeburn Trophy for the navigator with the least penalties on Regularities, presented on behalf of the family by Nigel’s son Graham. Dermot Carnegie again won the Steering Wheel Trophy for the driver with the least penalties on Tests, while Hubert & Diane Lynch took the best Related Crew award and also won the Hal Danby Spirit of the Rally award for selflessly stopping to aid a fellow competitor on a regularity section. Thoroughly deserved! The best placed crew from outside the British Isles were the popular Serge and Chabbey from Switzerland, in their MGB.

A four way battle for the final podium place was finally won on the last test by Duncan Wild and Steve Skepper (Mini Cooper S), who also took home the Best Experts award. Peter Keel and Les McGuffog were a fine fourth overall in their Triumph Dolomite Sprint, chased all the way by the winners of the Intermediate category, Steve Farmer and John Gearing in their MGB GT V8. Just ten seconds separated these three crews at the end.

Congratulations in the Novice category go to son and father team Theo and Dr. John Wilson, whose Porsche 912 came out on top in a three way Porsche battle with much more powerful cars, showing that power is not always necessary to achieve a good result on the tests on this event. They won the Vintage Tyres prize worth £250 of two free entries on HRCR Clubman's Road Rallies of their choice in 2019, supported by HRCR membership for one year. 

In the Heritage category honours went to leading Welsh Crew Malcolm and Martin Davies in their Alvis Speed 20, with Bernd Freiling and Reto Hosig in their very pretty Salmson S4C (a prewar car that shares its name with a leading Welsh TV channel!) the fastest crew on tests. Raoul San Giorgi and Thorsten Hoppe in Raoul's beautifully patinated and authentic Alfa Romeo 6C 1750 GS took the Grande Luxe Award for their stylish approach to every challenge.

In the Concours D'Elegance held on Tuesday before the competition began, Chris Dixon's immaculate Austin Healey 100/4 triumphed over Peter Bowring's lovely Daimler Dart SP250, but in truth all fifteen entrants were winners, so high was the standard of the cars presented for judging.

Duncan Littler was our Official Competitor Photographer again this year. If you’d like to order prints he’s and his number is 07740 179619.

Full results are here.